Online Highways Home > >


Cumbria and the Lakes District

Search Visit

A new maritime county in northwest England, combined from Cumberland and Westmorland counties in 1974. Wherein lies the Lake District National Park. England's largest National Park; est. 1951. The new county stretches south and west to the coast and north to it's county town of Carlisle. Other important towns include Keswick and Whitehaven.

The county is mountainous, with tracts of moorland in the north and northeast. The highest points of the shire are the Scafell and Skiddaw peaks, both over 3000 feet. The chief rivers are the Eden in the north and the Lune, Kent, Caldew, Liddle, Esk, Petterill, Irthing, Ehen, and Derwent. There are numerous picturesque lakes such as Derwentwater, Ullswater, and Buttermere.

There are vestiges of old Roman roads and camps. When the Romans occupied the area in 80 AD, they built great walls along the Solway Firth, notably Hadrian's Wall, finished in 121 AD.