This is the oldest federally designated park in Alaska, established in 1910 to commemorate the 1804 Battle of the Sitka. The park reflects the Russian era and the Tlingit Indian heritage.
The Russian Bishop's House is an original 1843 log structure and contains refurbished living quarters, exhibits, and the Chapel of the Annunciation. There is also a visitors center, and the Southeast Alaska Indian Cultural Center, where visitors can watch Tlingit artists and craftsmen demonstrating traditional arts. There is an admission charge for tours.