Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

The borders of the lands known as "Brabant", located roughly in the center of modern Belgium, have grown and shrunk over the centuries. "Brabant" was once a Dukedom, and as the political power of the Dukes of Brabant waxed and waned, so did the size of "Brabant".

For much of the history of the Belgian nation since the Revolution of 1831, Brabant was a single unified province with fixed borders. In the late 20th century, however, the province of Brabant are divided into three parts: the provinces of Vlaams-Brabant and Brabant Wallon, and the administrative area of Brussels.