Online Highways Home > >



Search Louvain-la-Neuve

Louvain-la-Neuve is NOT the same as Leuven (also spelt Louvain), the Dutch-speaking town 25 kilometers to the north, though the two places are historically tied. Louvain-la-Neuve was established in 1968, when the Catholic University of Leuven split off a French speaking sliver. This new institution, known as the French Catholic University of Louvain, founded Louvain-la-Neuve, the first new town in Belgium since Charleroi in 1666, on the outskirts of the municipality of Ottignies, 25 kilometers southeast of Brussels along the E411 roadway.

Corroy-le-Grand, Ceroux-Mousty, and Limelette are boroughs within the municipal district of Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve.

See more Cities and Towns.

07/02 Coming to The area