Online Highways Home > >



Search Mons

Mons is the capital of the Hainaut province. The town's name means "mountain", and tells the truth: Mons was established at the top of a hill, around a 7th century monastery founded by St. Waudru. Mons has expanded over the centuries, outgrowing its fortified walls more than once, and engulfing surrounding communities. The Cathedral dedicated to St. Waudru is now Mons' chief tourist attraction.

Mons is located 50 kilometers southwest of Brussels. It has a population of 91,000. The Canal du Centre, the E42, and the E19 all pass through it.

Casteau, Ciply, Cuesmes, Flenu, Ghlin, Harmignies, Harveng, Havre, Hyon, Jemappes, Maisieres, Masnuy-Saint-Jean, Mesvin, Nimy, Nouvelles, Obourg, Saint-Denis, Saint-Symphorien, Spiennes, Ville-Sur-Haine, and Villers-Saint-Ghislain are boroughs within the municipal district of Mons.

See more Cities and Towns.

12/09 Coming to The area