Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Flanders is the name given to the northern half of Belgium. The name once belonged to a county, now formally divided into the two provinces of Oost-Vlaanderen and West-Vlaanderen, but Flanders on its own refers to a much wider area, incorporating the provinces of Oost-Vlaanderen, West-Vlaanderen, Antwerpen, and Limburg, and Vlaams-Brabant.

The primary tongue in Flanders is Flemish, a form of Low German, (As does Dutch). Many people speak Flemish in Belgium, especially in the provinces and in the Netherlands. Most of Flanders is flat and low-lying. The largest cities are Antwerp, Gent, and Brugge.

Newly done.