Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Wallonia is the southern half of Belgium, comprised of the provinces of Hainaut, Namur, Liege, Luxembourg (province, not the country), and Brabant Wallon. The dominant language is French, save for a small enclave at the far eastern corner of the Liege province where German is spoken.

In contrast to the flat terrain of Flanders, Wallonia is undulating, with rolling hills, high plateaus, and serpentine river valleys which gouge deep troughs into the countryside. Wallonia is home to approximately thirty percent of Belgium s population of ten million; the largest cities are Liege and Charleroi.

Newly done.