Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Kent is a maritime county of southeast England, bounded on the north by the Thames, Essex, and the North Sea, on the east by the Strait of Dover, south by the English Channel, southwest by Sussex, west by Surrey, and northwest by London. It covers an area of 1525 square miles. Included with Kent on the north coast are the Isles of Sheppey and Grain, and at the northeast point, the Isle of Thanet.

The North Downs, rising to 800 feet at Westerham, traverse the county from east to west. The Weald, a plateau, runs through the central part of Kent border along its south side by forest ridges. Its rivers are the Thames, Rother, and Darent.

The capital of Kent is Maidstone. Canterbury is a cathedral city, and gives its name to the primate of England. Other major towns are Woolwich, Sheerness, and Rochester (another cathedral city). Margate, Ramsgate, and Dover are important ports.