Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Leicestershire is the most central inland English county, bounded on the north by Nottinghamshire, on the northeast by Lincolnshire, on the east by Rutland, on the south and southeast by Northamptonshire, on the southwest by Warwickshire, on the west by Staffordshire, and on the northwest by Derbyshire. It lies almost in the exact center of the Midland Plateau and is divided by the Soar River valley. Its surface is varied, valleys and plains alternating with low hills. Charnswood Forest extends across the northwest part. Rivers besides the Soar include the Wreak, Avon, Wellandl, and Trent, which is the county's northern boundary.

The heart of fox-hunting country is located around Melton Mowbray, Market Harborough, and Loughborough. Leicester is the county seat. Other important towns are Hinckley and Lutterworth.