Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Lincolnshire is a maritime county in east central England, bounded on the north by the Humber, on the east by the North Sea, on the southeast by The Wash and Norfolk, on the south by Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire, on the southwest by Rutland, and on the west by Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire. The area is 2666 square miles.

The shire is England's second largest and is divided into three administrative parts -- Lindsey, Kesteven, and Holland. Throughout the southwestern section run The Fens, once extensive marshes, now largely drained and richly productive. The coastland is bordered by sand dunes. The principal rivers are the Trent, Ancholme, WItham, and Sangworth, and there are many canals.

Lincoln is the county town. Other important towns include Boston, Grimsby, Grantham, Stamford, Louth and Gainsborough. Popular resort towns include Cleethorpes, Skegness, Marblethorpe, and Sutton-on-Sea.

Noteworthy ruins of medieval castles are found in several towns.