Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Shropshire is an English county on the border with Wales. It is bounded on the north by Cheshire and an isolated part of Flintshire, on the east by Staffordshire and Worcestershire, on the south by Herefordshire, and west by Radnorshire, Montgomeryshire, and Denbighshire. The county covers an area of 1347 square miles.

The western and southern parts of the county are hilly, while the north and east lie within the Severn Basin. The county is drained by the River Severn and its tributaries. Shropshire is largely agricultural.

There are numerous Roman remains in the county. Under the Saxons, Shropshire formed part of Mercia. In the west is Offa's Dyke.

The capital is Shrewsbury.