Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Surrey is an inland county in southern England, bounded on the north by Middlesex, on the northeast by London, on the east by Kent, on the south by Sussex, on the southwest by Hampshire, and northwest by Berkshire. It covers an area of 722 square miles.

The central part of the county is crossed from east to west by the North Downs, which reach a height of 965 feet in Leith Hill. The principal rivers are the Wey and the Mole, both flowing into the Thames, which forms the northern boundary of the county.

Surrey has a number of towns that are chiefly residential for people who work in London. Guildford is the county capital. The castles of Guildford and Farnham and the ruins of Waverley Abbey are of archaeological interest.