Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Yorkshire is the largest county of England, bounded northwest by Westmorland, north by Durham, east by the North Sea, south by Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, and Derbyshire, southwest by Cheshire, and west by Lancashire. Its area is 6090 square miles, divided into North, East, and West Riding. The Ridings are separate administrative counties.

The coasts are generally regular, bordered by cliffs of moderate height. The surface is varied, mountainous in parts, with moorland in the northwest and northeast. Yorkshire is an agricultural and grazing county and also has important industries.

York is the capital. Other important towns are Leeds, Bradford, Halifax, and Sheffield.