Cambrai is located on the Schelde (Escaut) River, 35 miles SE of Lille and 40 miles south of Roubaix. The town's former cathedral was destroyed in 1793 after the French Revolution; the present Cathedral of Notre Dame was built in the 19th century. The so-called Spanish House (Maison Espagnole), which dates from 1595 and is now the home of the Tourist Office, is the last remaining timber-framed house in Cambrai, where visitors can explore the medieval cellars and a shop selling local products. Nearby, sheltered in the heart of an 8 hectare park, the Chateau de la Motte Fenelon offers gourmet cuisine in refined surroundings plus a 40-room hotel.
Tourist Office 48, rue de Noyon Phone: 00 33 327 78 36 15 Fax: 00 33 327 74 82 82 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org