Online Highways Home > Illinois > Decatur

Macon County

Macon county was formed in 1829 and is named for Nathaniel Macon, a Colonel in the Revolutionary War and later a U.S. Senator from North Carolina. It was created out of parts of Shelby County.

The county is located in central Illinois just to the east of Sangamon County, home of the state capital, Springfield.

Abraham Lincoln and family first settled in the area when they immigrated from Indiana in 1830.

Educational opportunities include Millikin University and Richland Community College located in Decatur, the county seat.

The county population on July 1, 1999, was 113,219, a decrease of 3,987 over the 1990 census.

For information on county government, contact the National Association of Counties Web site.

Additional information is available at these pages:

Location:Decatur Illinois

Other Illinois Counties nearby:
Champaign County
Christian County
Coles County
De Witt County
Douglas County
Logan County