Online Highways Home > >

Connaught Province

Also known as Cannacht

Search Visit

Connaught is a province occupying northwest Ireland. It is bounded on the east and southeast by the River Shannon, on the south, west, and north by the Atlantic Ocean. It has an area of 6610 square miles. Within the province are five counties -- County Galway, Mayo, Leitrim, Roscommon, and Sligo. It borders other Irish provinces of Leinster Province on the east and Munster Province on the south. It was formerly one of the Irish kingdoms and was ruled by the O'Connors.

Newly done.