Online Highways Home > >

Munster Province

Ancient Momonia

Search Visit

The largest province of Ireland, occupying the south and west coast sections of the island, Munster is bounded on the north by Connaught Province, on the east by Leinster Province, on the south by St. George's Channel, and on the west by the Atlantic Ocean. It covers an area of 9475 square miles. The province is divided into the six counties of County Clare, Cork, Kerry, County Limerick, County Tipperary, and County Waterford. Two of these, Tipperary and Limerick, are inland. The province has hundreds of miles of coast, indented by many good harbors. The surface of the province is in great part mountainous, with peaks rising to 3000 feet. The principal rivers are the River Shannon, Bandon, Lee, Blackwater, and Suit. The largest towns are Limerick, Waterford, Cork, and Cobh.

Prior to the English conquest of Ireland, the various principalities of the territory had been united into two kingdoms, North and South Munster. The province is endowed with many ancient castles.

Newly done.