Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

County Cork, a maritime county, is the largest in Ireland and is situated in Munster Province Province. It is bounded on the north by County Limerick, on the east by County Tipperary and County Waterford, on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, and the west by Kerry. It covers an area of 2890 square miles. The 250-mile coast is bold and rocky, with inlets running from 3 to 25 miles inland. These include Youghal, Cork, and Kinsale harbors. Among the islands are Great Island in Cork harbor, Sherkin, and the Cape Clear Islands. The surface of the county is dotted with numerous mountain ranges. The principal rivers are the Blackwater (flowing into Youghal Harbor), Lee (into Cork Harbor), Bandon and Ilen. Cork is the county seat. Cobh (Queenstown) is on Great Island. Popular seaside restore include Bantry, Baltimore, Kinsale, Glengarrify, and Youghal.

Ireland's most famous castle, Blarney, is located in the vicinity of the town of Cork. The first "Irish" potato was planted here by Sir Walter Raleigh.