Online Highways Home > >

County Fermanagh

Search Visit

Fermanagh is an inland county in Northern Ireland in Ulster Province province, bounded on the north by County Donegal, on the northeast by Tyrone, on the se by County Monaghan, on the south by County Cavan, and on the southwest by Leitrim. Its area is 714 square miles.

The county is picturesque with low mountains and fertile vales. It is largely taken up by basin of the upper and lower loughs Erne and the River Erne, which flows in a southeasterly direction and cuts the county in half. The chief rivers besides the Erne are the Arney and the Kilcoo.

The county towns are connected with Belfast by the Ulster Canal through Lough Neah. Lower Lough Erne is connected with loughs Melvin and Macneen by the Arney River.

There are numerous ancient castles, raths, and tumuli, and on the Isle of Devenish, in Upper Lough Erne, is a ruined abbey. The chief towns are Enniskillen, the county seat, Clones, Irvinestown, Lisnaskea, and Belleek. The county has many beautiful waterfalls and caves.