Online Highways Home > > County Louth

County Louth

Search County Louth

Louth is a maritime county in northeast Ireland, part of Leinster Province. It is bounded on the north by Armagh and Down across Carlingford Lough, on the east by the Irish Sea, on the south and southwest by County Meath, and on the west by County Monaghan. Its area is 316 square miles.

The surface is low and undulating in the southern and central parts and mountainous in the north along Carlingford Lough, reaching 1935 feet in the height of Carlingford. The principal rivers are the Glyde, Dee, and Boyne in the south.

The capital is Dundalk. Ardee and Drogheda are other towns.

This county possesses a number of Celtic antiquities, of which the cromlech of Ballymascanlan and the ruins of the first Cistercian monastery in Ireland at Mellifont are the most interesting. A 60-foot mound called Dun Dealgan, near Dundalk, the county seat, is believed to be the birthplace of the legendary Irish warrior hero, Cuchulain.

Location: County Louth

Other Counties in Ireland nearby:
(County Louth) County Louth
(County Meath) County Meath

12/07 Coming to The County Louth area