Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Roscommon is an inland county of Ireland in the province of Connaught Province. It is bounded on the north by Sligo, on the northeast by Leitrim, on the east by Longford and Westmeath, on the south by County Offaly, on the southwest by County Galway and on the northwest by Mayo. Its area is 950 square miles.

Most of the county lies in the central Irish basin. Abrupt hills rise in the north and northwest. Roscommon is drained by the River Shannon, which forms most of the eastern boundary, along with its tributaries, of which the Suck is the most important. Besides the Shannon lakes of Allen, BOderg, and Ree, Roscommon has numerous small lakes scattered about the county.

The capital of the county is Roscommon.