Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Sligo is a county in Ireland in the province of Connaught Province, bounded on the north by the Atlantic Ocean, on the northeast by Leitrim, on the southeast and south by Roscommon, and on the southwest and west by Mayo. The total area is about 700 square miles.

The coastline is irregular, indented by many bays and inlets, the largest of which are Sligo Bay and Killala Bay. The surface of the county is hilly and slopes gradually from the coast to the Benbulben Range and the Slieve Gamph. The Moy and the Easky are the chief rivers, and the principal lakes are loughs Arrow, Gara, and Gill.

The capital and principal town is Sligo.