Online Highways Home > >

County Tipperary

Search Visit

Tipperary is an inland county of Ireland in Munster Province. It is bounded on the north by County Galway and County Offaly, on the east by County Laois and County Kilkenny, south by County Waterford and on the west by Cork, County Limerick, and County Clare. It covers an area of about 1640 square miles.

Tipperary is part of the central limestone plain of Ireland, its surface broken by mountains and hills. Keeper Hill is in the west. In the south on the Waterford border at the Knockmealdown Mountains. Tipperary is drained primarily by the Suir, which rises in the county. The River Shannon, with Lough Derg, forms a part of the northwestern boundary. The lowlands of the region are fertile.

Clonmel is the county seat.