Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

County Tyrone is located in Northern Ireland in Ulster Province. It is bounded on the north by County Donegal, north and northeast by County Londonderry, east by Lough Neah, southeast by Armagh, and on the south by County Monaghan and County Fermanagh. Its area is 1260 square miles

It is a hilly region, with the Sperrin Mountains on the County Londonderry border reaching heights of over 2000 feet. There are sandstone hills in the central part, with Slievebeagh reaching 1255 feet. The region is drained by the Blackwater and the Mourne.

Prehistoric remains in the county include numerous stone circles and a large cromlech near Newtown Stewart. The capital is Omagh.