Online Highways Home > >

County Waterford

Search Visit

Waterford is a maritime county in southern Ireland in Munster Province Province, bordered on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, on the west by Cork, on the north by County Tipperary and County Kilkenny, and separated on the east from County Wexford by Waterford harbor. Its ara is 710 square miles.

Waterford is mountainous in the north and northeast. The coastline, in some places rugged, has several indentations, the chief of which are Younghal and Dungarvin bays, and the estuary of the Suir, Nore, and Barrow rivers, which form Waterford Harbor.

The county has a great deal of pasture land and dairying is important. The chief towns are the capital, Waterford, and Dungarvin, both port cities.