Online Highways Home > Kansas >

Blue River

Search Visit Kansas

One of the principal water-courses of Northeast Region Kansas, is composed of two branches. The north fork rises in Hamilton County, Nebraska and the south fork in Adams County, Nebraska. They unite near the town of Crete, whence the main stream follows a southerly course, flowing through the western part of Marshall County, Kansas, forming the boundary between the Kansas counties of Riley County and Pottawatomie County

The Lower Little Blue and Lower Big Blue branches exist in the Lower Republican River Drainage Basin. Each branch in it's own drainage basin. The Lower little Blue is mainly within Washington County, and drains into the Lower Big Blue river in Marshall County. the Lower Big Blue river continues southeasterly into Riley County, and emptying its waters into the Republican River at Manhattan, Kansas.