Online Highways Home > Kansas >

Missouri River Drainage Basin

Search Visit Kansas

The general flow of the Missouri River Drainage Basin is to the northeast. Located in the Northeast Region of Kansas, and comprised primarily of six counties. The counties are; Nemaha County, Brown County, Doniphan County, Atchison County, Leavenworth County and Wyandotte County.

The minor river basins or watersheds in the Missouri River Drainage Basin are comprised of the Big Nemaha, Tarkio/Wolf, and Independence/Sugar. Most rivers have more than one branch. This basin also includes the historical Council Grove.