Off Rte 2. Tour the depths of a Springhill coal mine, famous in song and legend, with a knowledgeable guide. Hear stories of the disaster of 1891, the subterranean fire which raged through the galleries, the loss of 39 men in the 1956 explosion and the major 'bump' in 1958 which killed 75 men. Museum displays unique artifacts of the history of the town and its remarkable industrial heritage. Open daily 9am-5pm, 20 May-9 Oct. Admission charged. VISA/Mastercard accepted. Bus tours welcome, picnic area, restrooms, gift shop.