Online Highways Home > North Dakota >


Search Tioga North Dakota

Tioga is located in northwestern North Dakota in eastern Williams County about 50 miles northeast of Williston and 20 miles north of Lake Sakakawea.

"Tioga" is the Iroquois Indian name for "Peaceful Valley". Settlers from Tioga county, New York, made their way here in 1902 to set up the community in hopes of a new and challenging independent lifestyle and was made possible by the extension of the Great Northern Railroad from Minot.

Other than activities in, on and around the big lake, outdoor recreation in the area takes the form of Lewis and Clark State Park located about 30 miles southwest of town and Lostwood National Wildlife Refuge 35 miles to the northeast. In addition, a half-dozen pothole lakes grace the landscape east and northeast of town.

Golfers in the area have the Tioga Golf & Country Club to challenge their skills. The 9-hole course, built in 1961, is about 2,900 yards long and has a par of 36.

Vacation Rentals North Fork Lodge |

See more North Dakota Cities and Towns.

12/10 Coming to The area