Online Highways Home > South Carolina >

Lake Marion

Search Visit South Carolina

Lake Marion is one of the Santee-Cooper Lakes that cover land in five different counties including: Berkeley, Calhoun, Clarendon, Orangeburg, and Sumter. Clarendon County covers the most miles of shoreline of Lake Marion, and Berkeley County covers all of the shoreline of Lake Moultrie.

Lake Marion was created during the early 1940's and has become a popular recreation destination. Lake Marion covers approximately 110,000 Acres and is situated near Interstate 95 and State Highways 6 and 15. The lake was formed by the Santee Dam on the Santee River.