Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

The Hebrides, also called the Western Isles, are a group of Scottish islands off the west coast. Out of 500 islands, more than three quarters are uninhabited.

There are two main groups. The Inner Hebrides, including the Isle of Skye, are separated from the mainland by narrow straits. The Outer Hebrides, including the Isle of Lewis, North Uist and South Uist, are separated from the Inner Hebrides by the North Minch, the Little Minch, and the Sea of the Hebrides.

The islands are warmed by the Gulf Stream and the climate is mild. The population is not large. Many people still speak Gaelic.