Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Fifeshire is a maritime peninsular county of east central Scotland, and includes the Isles of May, Inchkeith, Inchcomb, Inchgarie, and Oxgar. It is bounded on the north by the Firth of Tay and Forfar, on the east by the North Sea, on the south by the Firth of Forth, and on the west by the shires of Perthshire, Kinross, and Clackmannanshire. Its area amounts to 505 square miles.

The surface of the shire is a succession of the undulating hills of the Lomonds, of which the highest points are East Lomond at 1471 feet and West Lomond at 1713 feet.

Through the small valleys run the rivers Eden, Leven, and Ore. Also in this county at the beautiful Loch Leven and Glen Farg.

The county town is Cupar. Along the east coast are many resorts offering sea bathing and golf, the most famous of which is St. Andrews, the mecca of international golfers. Culross is a medieval town with a Cistercian Abbey. Robert Bruce is entombed in the abbey at Dumfermline.