Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Perthshire is a county in Scotland, bounded on the north by Inverness-shire and Aberdeenshire, on the east by Angus and the Firth of Tay, on the south by Fifeshire, Kinross, Clackmannanshire and Stirlingshire, on the southwest by Dumbartonshire, and on the west by Argyllshire. Its area is 2493 square miles.

Stretching across the north, the Grampian Mountains cover a large area, and to the southwest and south are the Sidlaw and Ochil hills, so that the great part of the county is mountainous, with Ben Lawers rising to almost 4000 feet. The principal river is the Tay, with its numerous tributaries draining lochs Tay, Katrine, Rannoch, Earn, and other smaller lakes. The Forth forms the southern boundary with Stirlingshire. In Perthshire's hills and forested glens, picturesque lochs and rushing streams, is one of Scotland's most scenic areas.

The capital and important town is Perth.