Online Highways Home > >


Search Visit

Stirlingshire is a midland county in Scotland, bounded on the north by Perthshire, on the east by Clackmannanshire and Fifeshire, on the southeast by West Lothian, on the south by Lanarkshire and a detached portion of Dumbartonshire, and on the west by Dumbartonshire and Loch Lomond. The area is 451 square miles.

In the northwest Ben Lomond reaches 3192 feet and the eastern half of Loch Lomond belongs to Stirling. The principal burghs are Stirling, the capital, Falkirk, and Grangemouth.

Stirlingshire played a large part in the history of Scottish independence and is associated with Wallace and Bruce. The battles of Stirling Ridge (1297), Falkirk (1298), Bannockburn (1314), Kilsyth (1645), and the second Battle of Falkirk (1746) were fought within the county's borders.