Online Highways Home > >

West Lothian


Search Visit

West Lothian is a county in southeast Scotland, bounded on the north by the Firth of Forth, on the west by Midlothian, and on the south and east by Lanarkshire and Stirlingshire. It has an area of 120 square miles.

From lowlands along the Firth of Forth the surface rises gradually to a hilly region in the south where there are heights of 1000 feet. The soil is fertile except in the moorland and rocky aras of the south and southeast. Dairy farming is important. The principal towns are Linlithgow, Bathgate, and Armadale.