Online Highways Home > >

Democratic Party

Search Visit

The Democratic Party is one of the two major parties in the United States. No President of the United States has been elected since 1860 who was not the nominee of either the Democrats or the Republican Party.

The Democratic Party succeeded the Democratic-Republican Party in 1828, the year in which is captured the presidency with Andrew Jackson. From the outset, the Democratic Party favored the interests of farmers and planters over those of businessmen and manufacturers. During the years before the Civil War, this drew the party into support for Slavery. After the war, it supported many kinds of reform while also retaining the loyalty of the Deep South. During the 20th century, the party alienated its racist Southern supporters but gained with black and labor union voters.

The following presidents have been Democrats: Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Grover Cleveland, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Harry S Truman, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Jimmy Carter, and Bill Clinton.