Online Highways Home > >


Carnavonshire is a county in northwest Wales, bounded on the northwest by the Menai Strait and Anglesey, on the north by Beeaumaris Bay, east and southeast by Denbighshire, south by Merionethshire and Cardigan Bay, west by Carnarvon Bay and the Irish Sea. Its area is 568 square miles.

The county is divided into two natural parts. The northern part is Snowdonia, a mountainous region, and the southern part is a promontory called Lleyn Peninsula, which projects into the Irish Sea and separates Carnarvon and Cardigan bays. The chief rivers are the Conway and its tributaries. The chief towns are Carnarvon, the county town, Bethseda, Bangor, Aberharon, and Llandudno.

Popular Pages