Online Highways Home > Wyoming > Basin

Big Horn County

Search Basin Wyoming

This county in northern Wyoming is perhaps the most scenic. Bighorn County is home of the Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area, Bighorn National Forest, Bighorn River, Pryor Mountain Wild Horse Range, and Shell Falls. This county also contains the scenic towns of Hyattville, Greybull, and Lovell. Within Bighorn County there is also the Medicine Lodge State Archaeological Site, which is slightly NE of Hyattville, and the Big Horn Mountains, which span the county diagonally. Nearly 100 percent of this county is recreation compatible, when you think of all the scenic river spots, mountains to climb, forest to see, and archeological sites to discover!

The county seat of Big Horn County, Wyoming, is Basin. The county population on July 1, 1999, was 11,214, an increase of 689 over the 1990 census.

For information on county government, contact the National Association of Counties Web site.

Additional information is available at these pages:

Location: County Courthouse, 420 C Street, Basin Wyoming 82410 Telephone 307-568-2357 Fax 307-568-9375

Other Wyoming Counties nearby:
(Basin) Big Horn County
(Worland) Washakie County
(Worland) Washakie County

04/14 Coming to The Basin area
Big Horn Mountain Festival Buffalo WY July12-14 Acoustic, Americana, Folk, Old-Timey, Bluegrass & Traditional Music.