Located at the junction of highways 93 and 75 near Challis
, Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area provides visitors with a chance to experience Idaho's frontier mining history. Located in scenic central Idaho and managed by the USFS, BLM, and Idaho State Parks, the site combines fascinating history with many recreational opportunities.
Beginning in 1870, the Land of the Yankee Fork area attracted gold seekers. Within six years, the mining communities of Custer and Bonanza sprang to life. The area boomed as more mines were developed but the gold played out and Custer and Bonanza were ghost towns by 1911.
The area has 115 campsites and is open year-round.
Many of Idaho's most beautiful and scenic spots are preserved in the Idaho State Parks system.