Online Highways Home > > County Meath

County Meath

Search County Meath

Meath is a maritime county of eastern Ireland in Leinster Province. It is bounded on the north by County Cavan and County Louth, on the east by the Irish Sea, on the south by County Dublin, County Kildare, and County Offaly, and on the west by Westmeath. It covers an area of 940 square miles.

The surface of the county is a high fertile plain, which rises slightly to undulating hills in the northwest. The principal rivers are the Boyne, Dee, Delvin, Nanny and Blackwater. County Meath has no lakes of any importance.

There is a coastline of about 10 miles but no good harbor.

Duleek, Clonard, Mellifont, and Bective abbeys are found in the county. At Tara is the traditional site of the early Irish capital and first Irish royal palace. The chief modern towns are Trim, the county seat, and Navan, and Kells.

Location: County Meath

Other Counties in Ireland nearby:
(County Louth) County Louth
(County Meath) County Meath

04/22 Coming to The County Meath area