Organized in 1681, this church became the Independent Church of Charles Towne. Meeting Street, where the church is located, adopted its name from the Meeting House built to house the independent congregation. In 1806, a unique circular building, designed by Robert Mills, became known as the Circular Church. In 1861, a fire destroyed the building. In 1891, the fourth and present building on the site integrated the brick from the burned building of the 1886 earthquake into the new building. The Circular Church established the first Sunday School in South Carolina.
The graveyard of Circular church may be the oldest burial ground in Charleston. While many gravestones have disappeared, over 500 remain, with about 730 individuals named on those stones. Another 620 persons are named in church records with indications they were most likely buried in the graveyard.
The church is open to visitors when tour guides are available.